Lucid Dreaming and Meditation, a trial of techniques

My last practice of getting back into lucid dreaming was in the fall of 2015, it lasted just a few months. Since age 24, when I got out of the hardcore dreaming practices, lucid dreaming has not come quite so easily. Back then, it just happened. All the time. But now, I have to very actively attempt to lucid dream. I have to program myself, I have to work at it. I’ll share my techniques and goals from this last venture.

The tricks I was using in 2015 were simple. For starters, keeping a dream journal. I’ll write more about journaling in another post. When I record my dreams, I attempt to write down every bit of detail I can remember. This becomes a bit cumbersome eventuallly because I tend to remember a lot. Maybe you would just want to write bullet points. Sometimes I try to also write the dreams I remember in the middle of the night, but often I am too tired and there are too many. Half of my night could easily be taken up recording dreams.

At some point during the majority of my dreams, I have a thought – this isn’t right or that doesn’t make since. But I just ignore it and continue on. Or I have dreams where something bad happens and I think, man, I wish this was a dream but I know it’s not. I never test it though. Just have that thought. I never have those thoughts in waking reality. To me these things are signs. Points in time where I have an opportunity to gain consciousness. Also, as I stated in other posts, times when I can’t remember how I got somewhere or when I have the ability to rewind time or change someone’s hair color. These are all opportunities to realize I’m dreaming.

Before going to bed I would remind myself to watch for these signs. Tell myself to remember, when something is odd know it’s a dream. Test it out by trying to fly. But usually I wouldn’t need to test it, once I questioned the dream it would become very obvious, that yes, I was dreaming.

When I wrote my dreams in the morning and remembered an exact moment where the dream was trying to help me gain consciousness, but I missed it, I would take note if it. I would try to put myself back in that place where I was confused in the dream. Try to feel the confusion and use it to bring awareness that if it doesn’t feel right, its because it isn’t right. It’s a dream. I felt this would help me for when it happened next. The same idea can be used for reoccurring nightmares. In waking reality, put yourself back in the nightmare and imagine what you would like to do instead of what you did do. This can help your subconscious mind remember to take a new direction when your asleep.

Another important thing for me in lucid dreaming is having a purpose, a mission. In 2014, when I was experimenting with lucid dreaming, I decided I wanted to meditate in my dreams. I felt like that would be the ultimate state. But back then, I was never able to make it happen. In 2015, I stuck with the same goal and once again tried meditatiing in my dreams. This time around I was also meditating a lot in waking life. I would assume that helped to link a memory to the connection of my intention.

It only took 5 days of attempting to lucid dream before it actually happened. At first, as soon as I realized it was a dream I woke up. The next day I had another lucid dream. I was conscious for a bit longer, but not long enough to do anything. It was another few days before I became lucid again. Each time maintaining the lucidity a bit longer. After a few weeks of developing the practice I finally remembered to meditate in my dream.

The first few times I was able to meditate in the dream world I woke up as soon as I cleared my dream mind. But slowly the meditation times lasted longer. In one of the last lucid dreams I had back then, I was meditating in silence for a long time. I thought, what should I do now? And I was able to recollect that in my awake meditations I had discovered so much anger. In this dream state, I decided to meditate on that anger. What was the cause of it? Shortly after I woke up.

In a way, it seemed like a lot of progress. Lengthening my lucid time as well as retrieving memories from my conscious mind. But I wouldn’t say I had any revelations. The meditating didn’t necessarily get me anywhere or heal any emotional ailments. I have since heard about the phrase dream yoga, but have yet to do any reading. From my understanding thus far it has to do with meditating in dreams. I’ll read up on this and maybe write about it in the future.

After a few months, I quit my practice of lucid dreaming. I was getting very little sleep, and the sleep I did have was constantly interrupted. I needed a better balance. Trying so hard to gain consciousness while asleep, kept having me gain too much consciousness and constantly wake up. My sleep was so light I think I stayed in a space of dreaming and hypnagogic the whole time. Never going into a deep sleep. I was exhausted and decided to take a break. This go around I will have to find a better way.

Leave a Reply

