Dream Tea/Mugwort, Lucid Dream, “Clarity Now!” and Singing into the Dreamspace

Yesterday, my “dream tea” I ordered from Mountain Rose Herbs arrived in the mail! Dream tea contains peppermint, chamomile, gotu kola, mugwort, damiana, rosemary, rose petals, and stevia. For me the key ingredient here is Mugwort. So I purchased mugwort as well separately. I mixed 1/3 mugwort with 2/3 ‘dream tea’ and had a cup of it about 2 hours before bed. It was quite good. I figured, if nothing else it is a nice cup of bedtime tea.

But, low and behold, I had a lucid dream. It had been 2 weeks since my last. Before deciding, this is some magik dream tea, I think it’s important to look at all the factors. Anyone who’s read my post Lucid Dreaming Continued Attempts – Trials and Errors, would know I’ve been doing many different things in hopes of inducing a lucid dream. Everything I read discourages against this approach. People recommend you try out one or 2 techniques for a week or a month, then if it doesn’t work try a new technique. But this is not how I live my life. If I have any kind of issue: health, physical, mental, emotional – I attack it from every angle. Using western medicine, eastern, aromatherapy, meditation, prayer, herbal medicine, yoga, exercise, communication, thinking on ‘what am I doing to manifest this problem in my life?’ And then make small life adjustments. I hit it with everything. Then I heal. That’s my approach with wellness, so that’s my approach with dreaming.

Two nights ago I had a dream with a strong meaning to me. I may or may not post about it later. But in that dream tons of consciousness kept filtering through. My conscious thought from the waking world kept conflicting with what was happening in the dream, but instead of becoming lucid, the dreamscape would just incorporate the new information into the dream. When I woke up I thought, I’m so close, my next dream will be lucid. The next night I had no remembered dreams and then last night, lucid.

What I’ve been doing for the past month –

Meditation

Reality checks

Reminding myself to notice the strange before I go to bed

listening to lucid dreaming podcasts

Reading books and blogs on lucid dreaming

Dream journal

What I did specifically last night (aside form tea)-

I ordered one of the movies that contributed to my childhood nightmares, which arrived in the mail yesterday. I watched it before bed in hopes of bringing it into my dreams. I think I would really like to revisit the world of my childhood nightmares in my adult dreaming life. Not to face fears, as I don’t think it will be scary. But the world was also really kool, up until the point it was terrifying, and I would love to be able to explore it. I would also love to know if this is even possible.

Also, the past 2 nights I’ve been trying out a new idea as I fall asleep (the first time and throughout the night when I wake up) suggested on the Lucid or Bust podcast. It is a combination of DEILD – dream exit induced lucid dreams and WBTB – wake back to bed mixed together. She heard about his idea on Obe4u.com (I have not visited the site). The idea is to try different techniques in between wake and sleep. Some are: inducing the sensation that your body is spinning, walking or swimming, try to feel a phantom version of your arm moving. Do this as you fall into a dream.

Also suggested by Lucid or Bust I downloaded an app called “My Noise” and listened to rain through the app using headphones while trying to fall asleep. But the noise stopped playing well before I fell asleep.

I did not have a lucid dream until after 6am. At which point I was no longer using the above 2 techniques. I woke up at 6 and had a hard time getting back to sleep. I was up for about 20 minutes with the sunlight bothering me as it filtered through the blinds. I put on an eye mask (just a regular kind) which I seldom use.

It is then the lucid dream occurred.

I have so many things I want to do in a lucid dream that I’m very unfocused with my intention. But my main intentions were –

engage the dream, don’t fly away (fail)

call out to the dream space “clarity now” or something like that (win)

call out to the dream space and ask for guidance of sorts (fail)

when calling out to the dream space, repeat my words 3x, this idea coming from a blog post I read yesterday by Mindfulness Minutes – (win)

When I woke from the lucid dream my mind was very heavy with sleep. I lay awake for a very short while recapping my whole dream before and after lucidity. I was going to voice record it, but instead fell back into a dream. It’s unfortunate. The dream had been incredibly long and vivid before lucidity, and now most of it escapes me. Even the lucid part is vague. I woke up at 7:30, just before the alarm and recorded the dream then, but it was a bit too late.

Dream:

(there were many more dream scenes than this, but these are the ones I remember)

Scene: I’m on a bus. A cross between a school bus, greyhound, and inside of an airplane. My mom is with me. There are other people on the bus. There’s a door at the back of the bus, on the side. There’s a woman standing there with the door open. She’s part of a film crew. They are filming a movie outside the bus. We have to wait for them to finish filming before we can get off the bus or the bus can drive on. I’m not sure which. I ask the woman how much longer. She tells me, “when the lesbian is done with her act”.

I say something to the affect of, “look I’m not trying to be rude or call you out, I don’t want to upset you or be disrespectful. I’m not trying to put you on the spot or anything, but you know, I have to say this. Why didn’t you just say ‘when this person is done?’ Why did you have to point out the fact that she’s a lesbian?” The woman gets mad that I said that to her and called her out. My mom is also mad that I said something to her, but I stand strong in what I said. I add, “look, I struggle with these kinds of things too. I make judgements too, but I think it’s good to be aware about these kinds of things, to work on overcoming it and not being so judgemental. It’s good to bring awareness to a situation.”

Next scene – I’m in a cabin. My mom is there, but she’s in her own room. We’re renting this cabin for a vacation (perhaps the bus took us there). I’m in a bedroom with the door closed. Someone else is in the room with me, I think a female, but I can’t recall them at all. I don’t remember ever looking at them. There is nothing in the room. We’re sitting on the floor. The room has either 3 or 4 or 5 doors. The doors are all closed. When I try to count them or look at each one, the number of doors keeps changing. I remark to my friend how there are so many doors. Strange to have all these doors in a bedroom. Where do they lead? I say, “I think there are mulitple bedrooms inside this one room”. She thinks I’m wrong and that there are not so many doors. When I look again, maybe there are less. But then there are more again. I say, “one door would be a closet, one door would lead to the rest of the house. But what about the other doors? Maybe one could be a bathroom? But there is still another door. Where does it lead. To a separate bedroom inside this bedroom?” I/we are contemplating this for quite some time. It never even occurs to me to get up and open the doors and see where they lead.

Next scene – I’m now outside the cabin. There’s a picnic table. My mom is still in her room sleeping, but with the door open. All these people show up uninvited. 10 – 20 people. They are loud. I’m worried about waking up my mom. 2 old highschool friends from the waking world I recognize. The rest of the people are vague. The girl that was in the bedroom with me is also there, but I still can’t see her. At one point my friend from highschool takes my juice I was drinking and keeps it as his own. I go to him and tell him that’s messed up. I’m happy to share, but he can’t just take it and keep it.

Next scene – I’m at a place like a laundromat or something. The same girl from the cabin is there. As well as someone else. This other person is female, overweight, short dark hair, arm sleeve tattoos and baggy sweat pant style clothing. She resembles ‘Boo’ from Netflix show ‘Orange is the New Black’. We are in some kind of altercation. I think it involves the other girl somehow. Maybe something about we can’t all be friends. I don’t know. We aren’t physically fighting, but she is threatening me in a way.

Next scene – We’re outside the laundromat on a sidewalk. I am floating horizontal, about 2 feet off the ground. “Can you do this?”I ask, taunting the girl who resembles Boo. “No, of course I can’t” she says. “Nobody can do that.” Oh, I think, nobody can do that. Right. This is a dream.

I immediately fly off into the sky without making a decision to do so. All I see is blue sky, nothing else from here on out. (This has been the case for my last 2 lucid dreams as well). I’m in the sky and I think, ok I’m here. What was I supposed to do? And I remember to say “clarity now.” I say it out loud. I remember to say it 3 times. My vision gets somewhat brighter in a way. And actually, now that I’m typing this, I could see something. Maybe the tops of the buildings as I was flying up. In fact, I think at this point there were much more visuals then I remember. The sound of my voice was incredible. I took notice of it, acknowledging this was the first time I’ve ever spoken out to the dreamscape. When I’ve lucidly spoken to dream characters, my voice was normal. But now, it was like I was in this huge open space and my voice filled all of it. Imagine a crystal clear voice being projected out into the entire universe through multiple loud speakers. It’s hard to describe why it was so incredible, and I don’t even quite remember, but it was. I loved hearing my voice and continued speaking. I think at some point I said something about this being a dream. Maybe to remind myself. Then I started singing. My voice filled everything. I have a terrible singing voice in waking life and in the dream, but I love to sing. I took note of this, but then thought that perhaps I could practice singing whith all my might and passion in this dream space.

As I was talking and singing, I was also flying around. My arms flat down at my sides, I willed myself to move around with no effort. When I was done singing, I remembered something. I had just read that night from Robert Waggoner’s book, “Lucid Dreaming”. He talks about flying super man style and flying into space. I reach both my arms straight out in front of me with closed fists. I fly straight up at an incredibly fast speed. Willing myself to keep going. It’s exhilarating.

(I’ve had a lucid dream in the past where I tried to fly up and up. In that dream I was flying in swimming style. I kept hitting barriers where I could go no further. Then I would will myself through them and continue to fly swimming style until the next barrier. Eventually, in that dream I reached outer space. I was in the stars, but they were like tiny pin pricks we see from earth.)

I was remembering this old lucid dream where I flew up, and I was very excited that this time around I was hitting no blockades. Then another memory came into my mind while I was flying up. Robert Waggoner had spoke in his book about fear. Sometimes people become afraid when they get to high. When I read this last night, I had thought, I’m never afraid of that kind of thing in a dream. But when this memory comes into my dream last night, I felt a slight ‘suggested fear’ and stopped moving upwards. Then I told myself, I‘m not afraid, it’s just a suggestion from that stupid book. But I start loosing consciousness. Things are turning grey. How can I hold onto this? I think. Last time rubbing my hands failed. Then I remembered to try spinning in circles. So while still in the air, I’m spinning in circles. But usually if I spin in waking life I close my eyes. So I closed my eyes in the dream. As soon as I did that I moved even more towards waking up. And I thought, crap, why did I close my eyes? The last time I closed my eyes in a lucid dream it woke me up. So I opened my eyes, but everything was grey and fading to black and it was too late. I told myself, still in a semi-dream state, Never close your eyes in a dream. As a child, that’s how I always woke myself up. Seems to be a trigger.

I was awake, and going over this dream, trying to motivate to record it, and then fell back asleep into this next dream.

My friend I have only met 3 times was there. We were in her kitchen. She was talking about a dream she had had a month ago. She does not remember many dreams. She’s talking about voice recording them. I’m telling her she should voice record to text. That way she has the dreams more easily accessible. She says that’s too complicated for her. I say, it’s really not. You open the app and press the microphone button. That’s it. She still isn’t interested.

My coffee/tea maker went off at 7:30 and woke me. 30 minutes before my alarm. So I took the opportunity to finally record all of this.

 

8 thoughts on “Dream Tea/Mugwort, Lucid Dream, “Clarity Now!” and Singing into the Dreamspace

  1. Interestingly I had an amazing dream of flying last night too! I had a great time! I was “flying like superman” with one arm forwards and it went beautifully! Let the lucidity leak out into every corner of our being XD

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow!

    Screenshot from Lost Truth’s lucid dream 😀 😉 :

    You tried so many things to increase your chances of lucid dreaming, including dream enhancing substances (dreamroids) now like certain teas, if you keep this up you might develop superpowers or something. 😀

    I also thought that it was funny how you did not get up and open the doors to see what was behind them in the dream with the room with many doors; it is strange how we often do not think of certain things in dreams.

    Your flying in your lucid dream sounded faster and better and funnier than the flying in my dreams.

    I see that you fell victim to accidentally falling back to sleep without recording your dreams, this happens to me too often, if I could voice record my dreams from bed without disturbing anyone else I would not have that problem; I was curious to find out what else happened in your lucid dream, and so that was unfortunate.

    You are doing great, keep up the good work, and congratulations; and you are still the undisputed lucid dream champion out of our small lucid dream challenge group.

    Thank you for sharing your dreams,
    -John Jr

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to read this John Jr and for your reply.

      I think I had thought about eventually opening the doors, but it was more fun speculating than knowing. Which is probably true for me. I am not much of a science person.

      I have been sleeping much better, but heavier for the past few weeks. Thankfully, when I am awake enough to record my dreams in the night I can do it while still in bed. If you’re unable to do this, I can see why recording your dreams in the night would be very difficult. I would not want to have to leave my room and go somewhere just to record dreams. Maybe you need something like this

      Thank you. I’m enjoying reading Robert Waggoner’s book about Lucid Dreaming right now, finding out our experiences are very similar (maybe most natural lucid dreamers experiences are) and hoping to get new ideas and tips for what to do once lucid. Have you ever read a book about lucid dreaming?

      LT

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome Lost Truth.

        That makes sense.

        The LED pen is a good idea, unfortunately writing my dreams is not really an option because it would take too long and disturb my sleep too much, and so voice recording my dreams is my usual approach but I have a shared bedroom where there is a light sleeper so I have to leave the room to voice record my dreams which is why I usually go back to sleep without voice recording them until later. 😉

        I have never read a book about lucid dreams, and the only book that I have read about dreams was a super short maybe kids book that I read once while using the bathroom (the book was that short). 😀

        Thank you for replying,
        -John Jr

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hello Lost Truth,

        Today shortly after replying to your comment while preparing my post about the Anamnesis web series, by accident while on Wikipedia I discovered that there was a book about lucid dreaming on Wikibooks, and it is called Lucid Dreaming (https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Lucid_Dreaming) and it has a PDF version and web version and print version.

        I am not sure if it is any good or not, but I thought that it was interesting that I noticed that by accident shortly after replying to your comment. 😀

        -John Jr

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That is interesting. It’s always amusing to me when that kind of thing happens. I am reading a good book right now, which you may have seen me mention in a post, by Robert Waggoner called, Lucid Dreaming: Gateway to the Inner Self. It’s the first book I’ve ever read about dreaming, outside of dream interpretation dictionaries.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

